Healthful Events and Updates


It’s been a while since I have blogged but for good reason. I recently got back from the Wellness Forum Conference in Columbus, OH and had a weekend full of great information and guilt free, totally clean food. I have been assisting the Nevada Wellness Forum which is due to open its doors in September with Kids Cooking Classes which are a hit and also attending other events like potlucks and lunch & learns. I have met some really great people whom are like minding and care about their health which I recommend that all people whom are making a lifestyle change, join a group of people whom live a healthy lifestyle that you can meet with regularly. It’s a great feeling to know that when you attend a potluck or lunch or dinner that all the food provided there will be worry free clean and healthy. Not only will this help you but if you have any friends or family interested in changing their health around, this is the perfect way to introduce them by inviting them to events such as these.

I have some very exciting things happening in my life in the coming months. Let me get this one unfortunate circumstance out of the way by saying that I have withdrawn my enrollment at Clayton College of Natural Health because after realizing that their curriculum is not entirely in line with what I have been taught thus far which is based on hard scientific research, I felt that obtaining my Natural Health degree here would be a waste of my time and money. I do plan on enrolling in to another college but probably not until the Fall if the funds will allow it. As for the exciting part of whats to come in the near future, I will be going through the Facilitator training through the Wellness Forum at the end of July. I will be able to offer up to 5 people the Wellness 101 course which I will be teaching and I will be recorded so that Dr. Pam Popper herself can critique me. This also includes conference calls with Dr. Pam Popper which I am nervous but super excited about but that’s the best part about all of this training because she makes sure that I KNOW my stuff! Dr. Pam Popper is also offering my 5 students a free 1 year membership to the Wellness Forum which is a huge plus. So once I become a Facilitator, I will be able to teach the Wellness 101 classes at the Nevada Wellness Forum as well as offer many other services from kitchen clean outs to shopping trips, educating people on everything healthy which of course is where my passion lies.

I am also organizing a weight loss group here in Las Vegas through the Wellness Forum in order to give that extra support to those who want to reach their goals. This will be a group that meets weekly to discuss goals, hardships, progress, recipes, tips and of course I will be there to answer all the questions you may have. I will also set up fun events to attend for the weight loss group like potlucks and parties so that we can create a worry free zone that doesn’t include foods that will sabotage our goals! I also want to touch base with different types of work outs that we can all experience together like hiking, zumba or kickboxing. It is very important for me to organize this group because I know what obstacles come up when trying to lose weight and I want to be able to help people obtain their goals stress free. Lets face it peeps…you can go try some off the wall or trend diet all you want…hell you can even do cocaine to loose weight but the goal here with this group is that you are losing weight the HEALTHY WAY. We will also be helping each other create a healthy lifestyle so that a weight problem does not resurface after reaching your goal. As with many of these diets out there, you may lose weight but more then likely people don’t keep it off because they return to their old eating/sedentary habits that got them this way in the first place.  If you are over weight, that’s because you are living the life of an over weight person, plain and simple. With this program you are not depriving your body of nutrients by starving yourself….this is all based on whole. clean and nutritiously dense food that your body will thank you for.

One other exciting upcoming event is the Las Vegas premier of the documentary Forks Over Knives. Dr. Pam Popper is featured in this film along with many other renown doctors. About the film: FORKS OVER KNIVES examines the profound claim that most, if not all, of the so-called “diseases of affluence” that afflict us can be controlled, or even reversed, by rejecting our present menu of animal-based and processed foods.  The major storyline in the film traces the personal journeys of a pair of pioneering yet under-appreciated researchers, Dr. T. Colin Campbell and Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn.  Watch the trailer by clicking on this link or copy and pasting this it in to your address bar. http://forksoverknives.com/ I will give updates soon on what date the premier is scheduled and ticket pricing. I watched a sneak preview of the film while at the WF conference and I believe this is a must see for everyone.

Ok everyone…there is the my update for now on whats to come but more details will be given soon on everything. If you happen to live in another city and want to be apart of the weight loss group I will be more then happy to conference call you in to our weekly meetings. Have a great Memorial weekend!

2 thoughts on “Healthful Events and Updates

  1. Great Post! I can’t wait to join your weight loss group and help out with it if you need (ie. Zumba:). I am glad that you are pursuing your passion and that we are along this journey together. 🙂

  2. Lily…I found your blog! I’m looking forward to following your journey via this blog, as well as accompanying you at the Nevada Wellness Forum!!!

Leave a Reply

